Hazard Mitigation Grant Program Available for Eligible Applicants

Governmental jurisdictions who have a current mitigation plan are eligible to apply for Hazard Mitigation Grant Program funding. The funding is available to jurisdictions state-wide, not just in counties impacted by the May 24-June 6 flooding.

Interested jurisdictions are encouraged to submit a Notice of Interest by November 30. The Notice of Interest form is available here. A Power Point with additional information on the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program, including application deadlines, is available here. Eligible jurisdictions may contact the State Hazard Mitigation Officer, Melinda Gibson, at 307-777-4914, for further details.

Grant Documents

DHS Notice of Funding Opportunity - Fiscal Year 2015 Homeland Security Grant Program

2015 State Homeland Security Program State Initiatives

2014 State Homeland Security Program Initiatives - Investments and Projects

FY 2014 Homeland Security Grant Program - Overview Information

Governor Mead Secures Additional Emergency Housing Resources for Flood Survivors

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has approved Governor Mead’s request for a direct housing benefit for Niobrara County. This stems from the flood disaster from early this summer. FEMA’s direct housing program provides a temporary house for those eligible individuals after a disaster.

“People lost their homes, their businesses and more,” said Governor Mead. “Those people are working hard to rebuild and temporary housing will help. I have asked the agencies involved to do all they can for those who suffered damages as a result of severe weather around the state.”

Interim housing – up to 18 months – is put into place by FEMA while repairs are made to damaged homes or alternative permanent housing is secured. Families should work directly with FEMA to determine eligibility. FEMA specialists will provide monthly assistance to families on permanent housing plans over the 18 month interim period.

Questions about this and other disaster assistance should be directed to the Disaster Recovery Center. The DRC is located at:

Niobrara County Fairgrounds
Shooting Sports Multiplex Complex
310 West US HWY 20
Lusk, WY 82225

Assistance is also available through the FEMA Helpline at 1-800-621-3362 (option 2) or TTY 1-800-462-7585

For information on SBA loans call (800) 659-2955, email disastercustomerservice@sba.gov, or visit SBA’s Web site at www.sba.gov. Hearing-impaired individuals may call TTY (800) 877-8339.  Applicants may also apply for SBA loans online at SBA’s secure Web site at https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela.

Public Assistance Program Available for Four Counties

President Obama announced additional disaster assistance will be available for Wyoming communities impacted by the May 24 - June 6 flooding. The Public Assistance program is now available for Albany, Johnson, Niobrara and Platte counties.

As a result of the declaration, federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations in these counties for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by flooding. Public Assistance will provide grant assistance for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and the repair, replacement, or restoration of disaster-damaged, publicly owned facilities and the facilities of certain Private Non-Profit (PNP) organizations. The program comes with a 75 percent federal cost share, with the remaining costs borne by the state and local governments.

FEMA Disaster Updates

Flood victims facing legal issues who are unable to afford a lawyer may call 1-877-432-9955.


President Obama approved Gov. Matt Mead's request for a Presidential Disaster Declaration for Individual Assistance on July 7, 2015. The declaration is a result of the flooding damages that occurred in Johnson and Niobrara Counties during the time period of May 24 – June 6, 2015.

As a result of these severe weather related events, there were 14 homes destroyed, 50 with major damage, 95 with minor damages and 17 with some damage from flood waters. The Disaster Declaration also provides for Small Business Administration disaster loans as there were 12 business and non-profit organizations with major damage and 48 with minor damage.

The Individual Assistance Presidential Disaster Declaration triggers federal financial assistance or direct services to homeowners and small businesses.

The Wyoming Office of Homeland Security is working with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), affected counties and communities to ensure individuals and businesses get registered for federal assistance and to assist as needed.  

Again, individuals in Johnson and Niobrara Counties can register with FEMA the following ways: